Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-18-11, 10:38 PM
tkirklindale's Avatar
tkirklindale tkirklindale is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: mineola tx
Posts: 20
tkirklindale is on a distinguished road
autopilot s-tec

does any one have an installation manuel for a s-tec 60-2 autopilot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 03-19-11, 07:11 PM
hharney's Avatar
hharney hharney is offline
Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan (8D4)
Posts: 2,208
hharney is on a distinguished road
I assume you checked the website and no manual? I will check with my A&P.
__________________
Herb R Harney
1968 337C

Flying the same Skymaster for 45 years
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 03-21-11, 10:09 AM
hharney's Avatar
hharney hharney is offline
Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan (8D4)
Posts: 2,208
hharney is on a distinguished road
Sorry, no installation manuals from my A&P. Stec must keep these tight.
__________________
Herb R Harney
1968 337C

Flying the same Skymaster for 45 years
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 04-13-11, 03:48 PM
Rick Gardner Rick Gardner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cancun, Mexico
Posts: 52
Rick Gardner is an unknown quantity at this point
Stec 55x

I have a 1976 P model with the STEC 55X autpilot with the altitude and vertical speed pre-select option. My previous airplane was a C206 with the KAP 140 with the same features. The difference between the two is night and day. Please bear in mind I am not a big King fan but.... The KAP 140 flew like it was on rails and the STEC is a very expensive dog. I have had the rigging checked and ALL the hardware for the 55X has been to STEC at least once. in lateral mode it blows through radials, localizers and GPS tracks like a drunken sailor and takes 2-3 cycles before it can finally capture the lateral course. Vertical mode is the same, it porpoises and half the time I cannot use the altitude hold portion because it makes the family sick. If you are lucky enough to be intercepting a course AND altitude at the same time then it is like being at 6 Flags - all over the sky.

The latest "fix" from the STEC camp is that the servos need to be cleaned because dirt causes the autpilot to have to increase startup voltages to overcome the resistance which then causes over-compensation. I think they may actuall be onto something because when I set the vertical speed to 0 the porpoising stops but it does not remain on altitude. They say that when you use the vertical speed mode that the auopilot uses higher voltages. Has anyone had a similar experience?
__________________
Rick Gardner
www.caribbeanskytours.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.